About Us

Our Mission

The mission of the Rutherford County Health Department is to protect, promote, and improve the health and prosperity of people in Tennessee.

Our Vision

A recognized and trusted leader, in the nation’s top ten, partnering and engaging to improve health. 

Our Values

Integrity – Honesty in all that we do. 

Excellence – Delivering quality services to the public. 

Compassion – Demonstrate caring in daily operations and throughout public health crises. 

Teamwork – Passionate people innovating together.

Servant Leadership – Humbly stewarding the public’s trust and resources. 

Mutual Respect – Appreciation of one another and promotion of diversity. 

Our History

The history of public health in Rutherford County began before it was housed in mortar and brick.  The first public health nurse in Rutherford County was hired by the Red Cross in 1921; there was no health department or hospital, and there were only twelve doctors in the county.

In 1924, the Commonwealth Fund of New York organized the Rutherford County Child Health Demonstration that culminated in the building of the first health department in 1930.

As Rutherford County grew, the health needs of its citizens grew.  In 1980, a new clinic building addition was added by Rutherford County to meet the needs of the growing community.  In 1992, a satellite clinic was opened in the Town of Smyrna.  And in 2002, the present facility at 100 West Burton Street opened its doors to serve the public.  Because of the partnership and support from the Christy-Houston Foundation, Rutherford County Government, Murfreesboro City Government, Town of Smyrna Government, City of La Vergne Government, and many others, we are able to better serve the public health needs of our citizens.

Foundational Health Goals

Core Values

Professionalism:We are well trained, knowledgeable, capable, and focused. We strive for excellence and innovation in our work. We hold ourselves accountable for producing results.

Respect:We listen. We care about our customers. We care about one another. We are courteous, friendly, attentive, prompt, and effective in serving our customers and one another.

Integrity:We are honest, trustworthy, and consistent. We are good stewards of the public resources in our care.

Dedication:We are passionate about providing excellent service. We are always available to protect the health and well-being of our customers and community.

Equality:We value diversity in our managers, team members and customers. We treat our customers, our partners, and one another with fairness and impartiality. We accommodate the special needs of our customers. We strive to eliminate disparities and aim for equity and justice in health.

County Director

Dana Garrett, RN BSN

Board of Health

A Board of Health governs the Rutherford County Health Department.

Board Chair: 

Charles Kinard, DVM

Board Vice-Chair: 

James Garner, MD


Dr. Tammy Adams, MD

Judy Campbell, PhD

James W. Garner, MD

Ronald Wright, DDS

Chad Mills, Pharm. D.

Judy Campbell, Ph.D

Dr. Lori Macdonald, MD

Dana Garrett, RN BSN Director

Rutherford County Mayor, Bill Ketron

Rutherford County Director of Schools, Bill Spurlock